CHATOPS
Sends a server notice to all network operators that have UMODE +b set.
Operators only. This section is for IRC operators.
Type /msg HelpServ HELP CHATOPS in any client for the same text.
help text
Usage: CHATOPS <message> Sends a server notice to all network operators that have UMODE +b set. Examples: /chatops Where are we meeting? Exactly how these are used can be determined by network policies, but while GLOBOPS are generally reserved for very important communications, CHATOPS generally have looser standards. More social chatter is acceptable and less vital questions can be asked there. Only opers see these messages, so there is less need to worry about the content of the messages. Watching chatops should be voluntary, so that busy opers can stop watching them. Anything truly vital should be sent via GLOBOPS.
More in HelpServ operator commands
- CLOSEThis command will close all unknown connections to your server. You can list those connections with "STATS U".
- CONNECTConnects a server to another server. The servers at both ends of the connection being established must have defined each other properly in order for this command to succeed.
- DIEThis command will stop ConferenceRooms. Unless you are running ConferenceRooms as a service, it will not start up again.
- FREEZEThe FREEZE command is used to (mostly temporarily) take away most access rights to a channel or nick. If used on a channel, it will disable all access lists of the channel.
- FTRANSFERUsed to transfer channel ownership to another nick. Unlike TRANSFER, this command forces the transfer and doesn't require the user to finish the process after receiving a memo.
- GLOBOPSSends a message to all opers that have UMODE +g set. This command is usually used for network-wide communication between opers for details that concern the entire network.
- KILLUsed to forcibly disconnect someone from the server. This is usually used when someone is rude or is being disruptive. Global operators can kill users who are on any server on the network.
- KLINEKlines prohibit users from logging on to the server. This is used normally to restrict access from those that have been disruptive.