Skip to content
Help Center
Home / Help Center / HelpServ operator commands

FREEZE

The FREEZE command is used to (mostly temporarily) take away most access rights to a channel or nick. If used on a channel, it will disable all access lists of the channel.

Type /msg HelpServ HELP FREEZE in any client for the same text.

help text
Usage: FREEZE <#channel|nick> <reason>

The FREEZE command is used to (mostly temporarily) take away most access rights to a channel or nick. If used on a channel, it will disable all access lists of the channel. Users can still join, but the channel will behave as if it wasn't registered.

If used on a nick name, then the user with that nick name can't use any of his access in channels or use ATTACH on the nick.

Examples:

/freeze #python

/freeze Francisca

Freezing a nick should be a temporary punishment in most cases, it's useful if an abusive user caused trouble in many channels he has access in. Or if a whole channel has been violating network policies.

Note: The properties FROZEN, FREEZEBY and FREEZETIME will be added for the channel or nick when this command is issued.

Say hi in #CR.

Support Room

Operator tools.

Everything operators use to look after the network.

Operator Guide