RECOVER
If another user is using your nick and you haven't turned nick protect on, you can use this command to disconnect the user and recover your nick.
Operators only. This section is for IRC operators.
Type /msg NickServ HELP RECOVER in any client for the same text.
help text
Usage: RECOVER <nick> [<password>] If another user is using your nick and you haven't turned nick protect on, you can use this command to disconnect the user and recover your nick. After using the recover command, you need to use the release command or wait two minutes to get the nick back. Services puts up an enforcer, to prevent someone from auto-rejoining with your nick. If you have identified for the nick already, then you do not need to include the password. If you have not identified, then it will not work without the nick's pass. Example: /msg nickserv recover jimmy jimpassword Recover is a harsh command in that it disconnects the person from the chat network. You can try asking someone to stop using your nick before recovering it. But if your nick is in use and you want it back, this is always available.
More in NickServ
- REGISTERRegisters your nickname with NickServ. After registering your nickname you will always be able to use it. Other people can use it without getting access to your ops or memos unless you set protect on.
- RELEASEThis command will release a nick which is being held by a nick enforcr. An enforcer will go away in two minutes if release is not used.
- SETAfter you have registered your nick, the set command allows the settings to be changed. You must identify to NickServ before being able to change any settings.
- WATCHThis command will have NickServ manage your Watch list. A watch list is similar to a notify list or a buddy list. It will inform you when nicks you specify are in use.
- NickServ commandsEvery NickServ command, with its help text.
- ACCThis command checks if users own the nicknames they are currently using. After using the acc command, services will reply with the user's access level.
- ACCESSThis command is used to add, delete and list access masks. If a user matches an entry in the access list, he/she won't need to identify to use the nick. The person will have acc level 1.
- AUTHThis command is used for adding a nickname, or channel privilege to your buddy/watch list.