Skip to content
Help Center
Home / Help Center / HelpServ

BUDDY

This command lets you manage the BUDDY list. The server will inform you when each of your buddies joins or leaves the chat network.

Type /msg HelpServ HELP BUDDY in any client for the same text.

help text
Usage: BUDDY <#channel> <ADD|DEL|LIST|WIPE> [<nick>]

This command lets you manage the BUDDY list. The server will inform you when each of your buddies joins or leaves the chat network.

Examples:

/helpserv buddy add

/helpserv buddy list

You can add the nicks of people you frequently chat with as buddies. But you might not want to make your buddy list too long, or you may be seeing too many messages about people logging on and off.

Before you can add a user to your buddy list, an authorization request will be sent to the user, which he can accept or decline. See also AUTH.

Note: buddy lists are similar to WATCH lists, however, they are associated with your registered nick and will remain intact even if you disconnect and reconnect to the network.

BUDDY ADD

help text
Usage: BUDDY ADD <nick>

This command is used to add a user to your buddylist. Upon acceptance, you will also be added to their buddy list. If either you or your buddy uses the BUDDY DEL command, then the buddy entry will be dropped for both parties.

Examples:

/buddy add Richard

There are a few things that you should think about prior to adding a user to your buddy list. The first is that the user will now be able to tell when you're online and using your nickname. The second is that the user will now be able to see some information that has security implications such as your valid host address.

BUDDY DEL

help text
Usage: BUDDY DEL <nick>

This command will delete the specified user from your buddy list. This will also remove you from the other persons buddy list.

Examples:

/buddy del Richard

BUDDY LIST

help text
Usage: BUDDY LIST

Lists all of the users that you have added to your buddy list.

Examples:

/buddy list

BUDDY WIPE

help text
Usage: BUDDY WIPE

This command will completely remove all of the buddies that you have listed. That will also cause you to be removed from their buddy lists.

Examples:

/buddy wipe

Extreme caution should be used with this command. Once used, this command cannot be undone.

Say hi in #CR.

Support Room

Ask HelpServ.

Type /hs in any room for help on every command.

Open the Web Chat